A letter to a fatherless child

First of all Happy late Father’s Day to all you daddies out there!
I hope you all enjoyed your days!

But for those out there that had no one to wish Happy Father’s Day to. Or more sadly, maybe you did but he’s one of those “there but NOT there” kinda dad’s….
This is for you:

image

Dear child,
It’s Okay to weep. It’s Okay to cry. It’s Okay to be angry at times. It’s Okay to stop and wonder what it would’ve been like if you had grown up with a very present father.
I wonder. And than I hear and read stories like these. And my heart does sadden a bit. Because what if my dad had been there for me. What if your father had really and truly been there for you.?
Would we have grown up differently?
Maybe.
Oh Yes, it would have been such a wonderful thing to have had him to love us, to hear him tell me that I was beautiful and worthy of love or respect.
And I’m not gonna lie….it does kinda suck that my own dad is still not there for me. He’s still a “there but not there” kinda dad.

I wish the memories I have of my father wouldn’t have to be the nights he came home drunk. The many days spent with him sitting on the living room couch drinking himself away.
I wish I could say my memories were of my dad tucking me in at night, or reading me a bedtime story.

But I can’t say that all my memories are bad though. Because they’re not and I am thankful for those. Like the time he carried me on his back while we went for a walk. Or the almost faded memory of I holding onto him, standing on his shoes as he tried to walk around with me. 🙂

I have to say that I am very glad I at least had a dad around. And believe me it took me awhile to actually say and believe that.

But I realize now that my dad was in fact just a wounded man that actually had NO IDEA how to be a father. (And again it took me a long time to realize that also).
I found out His own father was a mean and cruel man. (Go figure).
That once even his own dad tried to kill him. .. And on and on.

But long story short. I came to forgive my dad.
Yes. I forgave him. It wasn’t easy.
But the freedom that came with that decision was mindblowing and beautiful! A day I will never forget.

I truly believe that many issues men and women deal with everyday are linked to a fatherless home.
((Read below))
I’m sorry you had no very present father. But know this that God is the Father to the fatherless.
-(Psalm 68:5)

And He does hear the crys of the fatherless!
-(Job 29:19)

Search out your heavenly Father and you WILL find everything you’ve ever searched for in a father.
And I know you can’t see Him now but I promise one day you will!!
And all your pain and awful memories will be gone.

You don’t have to seek your daddies love in anyone else. It won’t be found there. Your search can finally be over.

Love,
A once fatherless daughter

**Watch Father’s Love Letter:
http://youtu.be/NLzlnvPFJS4

** https://songsofintimacy.wordpress.com/2013/08/06/all-she-ever-really-wanted-was-a-daddy/

image

**Ready for this:
Statistics:

■63% of youth suicides are from fatherless homes
(US Dept. Of Health/Census) – 5 times the average.

■90% of all homeless and runaway children are from fatherless homes – 32 times the average.

■85% of all children who show behavior disorders come from fatherless homes – 20 times the average.  (Center for Disease Control)

■80% of rapists with anger problems come from fatherless homes –14 times the average.  (Justice & Behavior, Vol 14, p. 403-26)

■71% of all high school dropouts come from fatherless homes – 9 times the average.  (National Principals Association Report

■85% of all youths in prison come from fatherless homes.

● Daughters of single parents without a Father involved are 711% more likely to have children as teenagers, 164% more likely to have a pre-marital birth and 92% more likely to get divorced themselves!

■43% of US children live without their father [US Department of Census]

■90% of homeless and runaway children are from fatherless homes.

■■80% of rapists motivated with displaced anger come from fatherless homes

●Studies on parent-child relationships and child wellbeing show that father love is an important factor in predicting the social, emotional, and cognitive development and functioning of children and young adults.

■■24 million children (34 percent) live absent their biological father.
■Nearly 20 million children (27 percent) live in single-parent homes.
http://thefatherlessgeneration.wordpress.com/statistics/

Father’s don’t believe for once that your job is insignificant.
Lead like Christ and you can’t go wrong.

image

****
photo credit: Stephen Poff via photopin cc
photo credit: CarbonNYC via photopin cc
photo credit: Daniel Rocal via photopin cc

2 thoughts on “A letter to a fatherless child

  1. There is a great book called, Healing for the Father Wound by H. Normal Wright that is excellent for healing the wounds and hurts from a broken relationship between a daughter and her father. I have read another of his books on this same subject and it healed my relationship with my dad. Here’s an excerpt about the book – Originally titled A Dad-Shaped Hole in My Heart, this book speaks to all women who carry wounds from their fathers – including emotional, physical, and spiritual absenteeism or abuse. Among the topics covered are denial and how it holds a woman back, ways to improve the relationship with her father, losing a father through divorce or death, and finding the real and perfect heavenly Father. Using Scripture, honest testimonies from many women, and insights from Wright’s many years of counseling, Daughters and Dads will take readers from pain and heartache to renewed joy as they realize their heavenly Father is always there, always dependable. I highly recommend this book.

    • God totally did something wonderful in me when I forgave my dad. I actually felt something leave me. Even though my dad is still a hard man. Only God could’ve put this love inside me that I now have for him! ❤

Leave a Reply

